Midwest District Welcomes New Chair – Debra Bethard-Caplick

If you were at the PRSA Midwest District Conference in Springfield, Missouri, you’ve already heard the news, but for those of you who couldn’t make it, here’s the scoop:

My name is Debra Bethard-Caplick, and I’m the new Midwest District chair for the remainder of 2014. I’ve got some very big shoes to fill as Lori Marble steps down after an incredibly action-packed first five months to take care of increased job responsibilities. I’ll be working with Chair-elect Kellie Wostrel, Immediate Past Chair Brant Skogrand, and the rest of the Midwest District board to make sure the rest of 2014 is the success Lori and all of you envisioned at the start of the year.

Many of you know me from my time as the president of the Suburban Chicago chapter, or from the National PRSA Assembly the past few years. For those of you who don’t, I’m the founding member of Quicksilver Edge Strategic Communications, a boutique agency based in Chicago that focuses on generational communications. I’m married to my Chicago paramedic and part-time PR spouse James, and proud puppy parent to five furballs, and will be happy to show you photos any time.

I’m writing this from the 2014 Midwest District Conference, and I have to say it’s the biggest one yet. The Southwest Missouri chapter has done a fabulous job putting together this conference. The lineup of speakers is impressive, and the attendance is the largest of the past three years. I want to congratulate Southwest Missouri on their efforts. I also want to congratulate Debbie Harvey, past president of the Chicago chapter and the 2014 recipient of the Platinum Award, the highest honor bestowed by the Midwest District. Debbie is an outstanding professional, and her contributions to PRSA and the Midwest District are impressive.

If you haven’t had the opportunity to attend a conference, I strongly urge you to start thinking about attending in 2015. There are several chapters interested in hosting the conference, so if your chapter is thinking about hosting or have questions about the process, be sure to contact me, Kellie, Brandt or any of the district board members.

I hope to have a chance to see lots of Midwest District people this fall at the International Conference, but in the meantime, be sure to check in on the District’s LinkedIn group, our conference Facebook page, or join us on Twitter @PRSAMidwest. And if you have any questions, or would just like to chat, you can find me at dcaplick@quicksilveredge.com or @dcaplick.

Now, let’s enjoy the summer!

Leave a Reply

